3D Design, three solids

dsc_1050

For this assignment I used several formal elements. The most prominent feature is the twist in the main base of this piece. To balance against the long arm extending from the base I also used a counter-weight in the base, hidden between the layers. In the middle rectangular solid you can see a large notch.

dsc_1049

From this side you can see a notch in the lower base and the hole in the third solid. I used these methods to make sure that the total form was asymmetrical in the round making it more dynamic and interesting.

dsc_1048

 

Overall I found this to be an fun and interesting assignment. I feel like I learned a lot about making a 3D project that is unique and interesting. I found the foam to be simple yet frustrating to work with. It took time and patience to make the solids as smooth as I did. After this assignment I feel that I can employ the methods and elements used here.

Leave a Reply

